145 villages electrified in last week of June; 8,529 villages electrified till date

145 villages electrified last week; 8,529 villages electrified till date

PUNE: Hundred-forty-five villages have been electrified across the country during the last week (from 20 th to 26th June 2016) under Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojna (DDUGJY).

Out of these electrified villages, 67 villages belong to Assam, 16 to Jharkhand, 29 to Meghalaya, eight to Rajasthan, 11 to Odisha, three to Madhya Pradesh, eight to Bihar, two to Chhattisgarh and one to Uttar Pradesh.

In view of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s address to the nation on Independence Day, the government of India has decided to electrify remaining 18,452 unelectrified villages within 1000 days i.e. by May 1, 2018.

The project has been taken on mission mode and strategy for electrification consists of squeezing the implementation schedule to 12 months and also dividing village electrification process in 12 stage milestones with defined timelines for monitoring.

8,529 villages have been electrified till date. Out of remaining 9,923 villages, 459 villages are uninhabited and 6,374 villages are to be electrified through grid, 2,754 villages to be electrified through off-grid where grid solutions are out of reach due to geographical barriers and 336 villages are to be electrified by state government own.

Total 1654 villages were electrified during April 2015 to Aug 14, 2015 and after taking initiative by government of India for taking it on mission mode, 6,875 additional villages have been electrified from August 15, 2015 to June 26, 2016. In order to expedite the progress further, a close monitoring is being done through Gram Vidyut Abhiyanta (GVA) and various actions are also being taken on regular basis like reviewing the progress on monthly basis during the RPM meeting, sharing of list of villages which are at the stage of under energisation with the state Discom, identifying the villages where milestone progress are delayed.