Modi government prematurely retires 33 tax officers for non-performance at work


NEW DELHI: Cracking the whip on non-performing officials, the government for the first time has prematurely retired 33 tax officers including seven Group ‘A’ officers.

In a statement issued today, the Finance Ministry further said 72 officers have been dismissed including six Group ‘A’ officers in other departmental/disciplinary actions in the last two years.

“There is a general perception that no action is taken against the defaulting tax officials for their non-performance as well as in case of harassing the tax assesses among others,” it said. “The present government has taken various steps to change this perception.”

For the first time, 33 officers/officials of the Revenue Services, including seven Group ‘A’ officers, have been prematurely retired for non-performance under Rule 56(j) of CCS (Pension) Rules, the statement read.