Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

The 6 Pillars of the Sanatana Dharma


Here are brief about 6 Pillars of the Sanatana Dharma

1. Truthfulness

One must always speak the truth, stand up for the truth, and side with the truth.

2. Mercy

All living beings are brothers and sisters, and thus, one must be kind to all his brothers and sisters. This teaching is unique to Sanatan-Dharma, and it comes from the most merciful Person, Lord Krishna (God). Kindness to animals is practiced by not killing them (vegetarianism and no leather). Kindness between human beings is practiced by being friendly and considerate to everyone. Consuming alcohol and drugs, gambling, and relationships outside of marriage cause suffering to families and especially to the women and children. Thus one should refrain from these sinful activities.

3. Austerity

There are many austerities that one can perform. Including living a simple life by not being materialistic, eating simply, fasting, and going on pilgrimage.

4. Cleanliness

Take bath at least once daily, brush teeth at least twice daily, keep the home, business/work area, public places, rivers, and streets clean by not throwing trash and regular cleaning.

5. Charity

Donations should be made on a regular basis to accountable and worthy Temples, those engaged in the service of God, those engaged in preaching the Glories and Instructions of God, and the poor.

6. Spiritual Education

The Vedic scriptures are the oldest on the planet, dating back to more than 5000 years and vast with more than 800,000 verses, which provide knowledge in many fields of life, and this knowledge comes from God Himself. The whole purpose of religion is to know and serve God. Only the Vedic scriptures describe God, and in complete, because God is One and He is only described in one place, the Vedic scriptures. The essence of all the Vedic knowledge is the Srimad Bhagavad-Gita, the Word of God in Person. The other important scripture is the Srimad Bhagavatam, which has the pastimes of God. Only the Vedic scriptures contain the pastimes of God. One should study at least these two scriptures on a daily basis.

“One who is not envious but is a kind friend to all living entities, who does not think himself a proprietor and is free from false ego, who is equal in both happiness and distress, who is tolerant, always satisfied, self-controlled, and engaged in devotional service with determination, his mind and intelligence fixed on Me – such a devotee of Mine is very dear to Me.” (Lord Krishna, Bhagavad-Gita 12.13-14)

“The Supreme Personality of Godhead said: Fearlessness; purification of one’s existence; cultivation of spiritual knowledge; charity; self-control; performance of sacrifice; study of the Vedas; austerity; simplicity; nonviolence; truthfulness; freedom from anger; renunciation; tranquillity; aversion to faultfinding; compassion for all living entities; freedom from covetousness; gentleness; modesty; steady determination; vigor; forgiveness; fortitude; cleanliness; and freedom from envy and from the passion for honor – these transcendental qualities, O son of Bharata, belong to godly men endowed with divine nature.” (Lord Krishna, Bhagavad-Gita 16.1-3) —

1 Comment

Click here to post a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • This information contradicts the basic facts of “Hinduism’s-sanatana Dharma- 4 pillars of dharmaarthakamamoksha.
    What you are explaining 6 pillars are based on Yama and Niyama 10 each, totally 20 in all.
    When we give such information it defeats the purpose of learning what Hinduism is. I teach
    Children Understanding Hinduism based on HAF publication by dr.DC Rao.