Hindu Temples Hinduism

Why are there no Temples of Brahma?

In the Shiva Purana, at the beginning of time in the Cosmos, Vishnu and Brahmā approached a huge Shiva Lingam and set out to find where Shiva began and where he ended. Vishnu was appointed to seek the end and Brahma the beginning. Taking the form of Vishnu’s 3rd avatar; the boar Varaha, Vishnu began digging downwards into the earth, while Brahma took the form of a swan and began flying upwards. However, neither could find the end or begining to Shiva. He was infinite. The Hindu God Vishnu, satisfied, came up to Shiva and bowed down to him as a swarupa of Brahman. Brahmā did not give up so easily. As He was going up, he saw a ketaki (Sanskrit – Kaetakee) flower, dear to Shiva. His ego forced him to ask the flower to bear false witness about Brahmā’s discovery of Shiva’s beginning. When Brahmā told his tale, Shiva, the all-knowing, was angered by the Brahma’s ego. Shiva cursed Brahma that no being in the three worlds will worship him.

brahmaAnother story in connection with Brahma’s lack of worship is when Brahma was creating the universe, he made a female deity known as Shatarupa (one with a hundred beautiful forms). Brahma became immediately infatuated with his creation. Shatarupa moved in various directions to avoid the gaze of Brahma. But wherever she went, Brahma developed a head. Thus, Brahma developed five heads, one on each side and one above the others.

In order to control Brahma, Shiva cut off the top head. Also, Shiva felt that Shatarupa was Brahma’s daughter, being created by him. Therefore, Shiva determined, it was wrong for Brahma to become obsessed with her. He directed that there be no proper worship in India for the “unholy” Brahma. Thus, only Vishnu and Shiva continue to be worshiped with temples all over the world while Brahma only has two temples dedicated to him. Ever since the incident, Brahma has been reciting the four Vedas in his attempt at repentance.

Ancient temples:

Brahma Temple at Khokhan, in Kullu District, Himachal Pradesh
Brahma Temple at Asotra, District Barmer, Rajasthan
Brahma Temple at Oachira in Kollam district, Kerala
Brahma temple at village aleo shrishty narayan, in Kullu, Himachal Pradesh
Brahma temple at Annamputhur village srinidheeswarar in Tindivanam
Brahma Temple at Pushkar , Rajasthan
Thirunavaya, Thiruvallam , Kerala
Brahma Temple at Royakotta road in Hosur , Tamil Nadu
Uttamar Kovil in Srirangam, Tamil Nadu
Kumbakonam, Thanjavur District, Tamil Nadu
Khedbrahma, Gujarat
The Brahma Temple near Panajiin the village of Brahma-Carambolim in the Satari taluka, Goa
Brahma (accompanied by Ganesh) Temple, near the Sri Padmanabhaswamy temple, Thiruvananthapuram , Kerala
Bramhapureeswarar temple in Tirupattur, near Trichy, Tamil Nadu
BrahmaKuti Temple at Brahmaavart (Bithoor), Kanpur (Uttar Pradesh)

Recently Built temples:

Chaturmukha Brahma temple in Chebrolu, Andhra Pradesh
Chaturmukha (Four Faces) Brahma temple at Bengaluru, Karnataka,
Brahma Kapaalam

~By Kyle Tortora


Click here to post a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • I thought marrying saraswathi(his own daughter) was the reason..

  • Look there is a simple scientific explanation. Bramha ji represents creation. He is every one of us residing as creation of new things. We humans have the ability to create new Karmas (our thoughts words and deeds) via Bramha ji. However the more thoughts words and deeds we create the less our connection begets with the divine energy. So there are no temples of Bramha ji cause we dont want to create more Karmas to lose our connection with the Divine Energy.
    So we dont want to create more Karmas. We want to reduce them.

  • The Thrimoorthies according to Sidhavedam are manifestations of thrigunas.The brahma represents thamasikam,Vishnu Rajasikam and Shiva swathikam.People don’t want to worship thamogunam,that is why there are few temples of Brahma.The stories of the Puranas are like parables trying to convey certain teachings.The author of Puranas Maharshi Veda Vyasan himself has mede it very clear in Bhagavatham 12th skandam that he had made these stories to teach ordinary peoples the teachings of Vedantham.Brahma and Saraswathy were not human beings. They don’t have human bodies.How they could marry like ordinary human beings.The spiritual meaning of marriage in Purana is the union of jeevathma and paramathama.Killing means desruction of evil elements in one’s character.Brahma is the creating potential of God.He created human body and it’s organs like tongue. Tongue is the the Saraswathi the organ creating vani.So he is the father of Saraswathi.They join together to produce sound the vani.This union is being described in Puranas as marriage.Vishnu is the mind of God.Vishnu created Brahma who is a tool in the hands of Vishnu.That is why Brahma is being considered under the control of Vishnu.Those who control do have rajogunam and the controlled thamasika gunam.And the Sadashiva chaithanyam provides the Vishnu rajogunam with which he controls and protects this world.That is why Lord Shiva is being called Mahadeva the greatest among all Devas,the lord of Gods.

  • @ Mr. Gopalan,
    I was quite convinced about your explanation on the term of marriage!!! but i still have a doubt about the Gunas of the Trimurthy you mentioned… In the Bhagawadgita, it is clearly mentioned about the Gunas and the nature and character each Guna defines. According to that, Brahma (Shrushti) being the creator and also the one who chants the Vedas all the time is considered to be Sattvika, Vishnu (Sthiti) who takes care of the comforts, passions and desires in the lifetime is considered to be Rajasika and Shiva (Laya) who takes care of Death and beyond, who dwells in the graveyard amidst the dead bodies (Smashaanavasi) is considered to be Taamasika.

  • God Brahma is worshiped by Brahmans.
    They have his temple.
    Remember we have had lots of parlay as
    God Shiu
    has told us in the Shiu Puran

  • In Bhagwat Geeta krishna says satva, rajas and tamoguna are all my prakriti (maya)

  • Shiva, Vishnu, Brahma are sakar and saguna form of nirakar and nirguna supreme. No one is greater than the other. Above story is only to remind of their Brahman form. The nirakar and nirguna supreme takes saguna form of purush and prakriti also known as Adi Narayan or Adi Shiva in various Puran and prakriti as Mahamaya or Adi Shakti in Devi Puran. So who is greater and who is lesser is meaning less.