Spiritual Significance of 18 Sacred Steps of Sabarimala Ayyappa Temple

Significance of 18 Steps of Sabarimala Ayyappa Temple


Before one views the Sanctum Sanctorum, one has to climb over eighteen sacred steps. These steps are now covered with `Panchaloham’ ( A Special Composition of gold, silver, copper, iron and tin ). Pilgrims initiate their ascent up the Pathinettam Padi by placing their right foot on the first step.

The symbolism of these 18 steps is as follows:-

The first five steps symbolise the five human senses (Panchendriyas).

1. Visual (Eye)
2. Auditory (Ears)and
3. Olfactory (Nose)

4. Gustatory (Tongue)
5. Tactile (Skin)

 The next eight steps symbolise the eight Ashtaragas.
6. Kama (Love)
7. Krodha (Anger)
8. Lobha (Avarice)
9. Moha (Lust)
10. Madha (Pride)
11. Maltsarya (Unhealthy Competition)
12. Asooya (Jealous)
13. Dhumb (Boastfulness)
The next three steps stand for three Gunas or Thrigunas (Nature-born qualities).

14. Satva (Perspicuity, Discernment)
15. Rajas (Activity, Enjoyment)
16. Thamas (Inactivity, Stupor)

The last two steps represent:
17. Vidya (Knowledge)
18. Avidya (Ignorance)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

More in Hinduism
Shani Shingnapur Temple
Shani Shingnapur Temple in Maharashtra Traditions are under attack from femenist NGO

Shani temple set for January 26 showdown. The temple...

Renunciation through Devotion
Renunciation through Devotion

Dictionary defines the word ‘Renunciation’ as follows: ...

AZHWARS: ­ The Mystic Vaishnavite Saints of the South India
AZHWARS: ­ The Mystic Vaishnavite Saints of the South India

Azhwars (or Alvar) are the Vaishnavite saints...

Keep Moving in Life
Keep Moving in Life

annad bhavanti bhutani parjanyad anna-sambhavah yajnad bhavati...