Hindu Wedding Rituals

Hindu Wedding Rituals



While various regional steps are followed by different sects of Hindus across India, the following 13 steps form the core of a Vedic wedding ceremony:

1.  Vara Satkaarah
Reception of the bridegroom and his kinsmen at the entrance gate of the wedding hall where the officiating priest chants a few mantras and the bride’s mother blesses the groom with rice and trefoil and applies tilak of vermilion and turmeric powder.

2.  Madhuparka Ceremony
Reception of the bridegroom at the altar and bestowing of presents by the bride’s father.

3.  Kanya Dan
The bride’s father gives away his daughter to the groom amidst the chanting of sacred mantras.

4.  Vivah-Homa
The sacred fire ceremony ascertaining that all auspicious undertakings are begun in an atmosphere of purity and spirituality.

5.  Pani-Grahan
The groom takes the right hand of the bride in his left hand and accepts her as his lawfully wedded wife.

6.  Pratigna-Karan
The couple walk round the fire, the bride leading, and take solemn vows of loyalty, steadfast love and life-long fidelity to each other.

7.  Shila Arohan
The mother of the bride assists her to step onto a stone slab and counsels her to prepare herself for a new life.

8.  Laja-Homah
Puffed rice offered as oblations into the sacred fire by the bride while keeping the palms of her hands over those of the groom.

9.  Parikrama or Pradakshina or Mangal Fera
The couple circles the sacred fire seven times. This aspect of the ceremony legalizes the marriage according to the Hindu Marriage Act as well custom.

10.  Saptapadi
Marriage knot symbolized by tying one end of the groom’s scarf with the bride’s dress. Then they take seven steps representing nourishment, strength, prosperity, happiness, progeny, long life and harmony and understanding, respectively.

11.  Abhishek
Sprinkling of water, meditating on the sun and the pole star.

12.  Anna Praashan
The couple make food offerings into the fire then feed a morsel of food to each other expressing mutual love and affection.

13.  Aashirvadah
Benediction by the elders.

~ by Subhamoy Das 



Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • The phrase ‘Kanya daan’ does not appear anywhere in the saptapadi. It is kanya pratipaadan. Daan implies dissociation from the object of charity. Pratipaadan means handing over of responsibility. Please give references from the scriptures to verify.

  • Marriage is generally called as kanya daan. Why it is included as one of the steps in the marriage process? I m not convinced. Kindly convince me.

    Nice article written.

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

More in Hinduism
Rath Yatra Colours - Yellow, Black and White
Rath Yatra Colours: Yellow Black and White

In the Puri Shree Jagannath Temple, the...

Rath Yatra - the chariot festival of India
Rath Yatra – The Chariot Festival of India

Every year in mid-summer, Lord Jagannath, with...

Bhairav: The Fearsome incarnation of Lord Shiva
Bhairav: The Fearsome incarnation of Lord Shiva

Bhairav or Bhairon is an incarnation (avatar) of...

Dakshinayana - Gnana Pada: The path to purification
Dakshinayana – Gnana Pada: The path to purification

In the yogic culture, the summer solstice...