Events & Festivals

Devi Maha Gauri: the eighth form of Maa Durga

Devi Maha Gauri: the eighth form of Maa Durga


As the eighth form of Devi Durga, Maha Gauri is one of the most graceful Goddesses among Nav Durga. 

Mesmerizing to look at, her beauty glows like the shimmer of the white pearl, she is revered with the name “Gauri”.  Due to her fair complexion, she is compared with the conch, the moon and the white flower called Kunda. 

Devi Maha Gauri denotes peace and endurance.  She has four arms, on her right hand she carries a trishul and keeps the second right hand in Abhaya Mudra symbolizing protection and reassurance.  The first left hand is adorned with damaru and the second one is kept in Varada Mudra to dispense boons. 

When Maa Parvati was doing penance to obtain Lord Shiva, her body turned dark.  When Lord Shiva accepted her devotion, he washed her body with the waters of Ganga, due to which her body radiated with purity. 

Worshipping Devi Maha Gauri is believed to purify the soul of the devotee, making them pious and sacred.  With her blessing, worshipper gets the divine perfection of Universe. She influences mankind toward path of truth and purity. Illumination of her grace is infinite. She is the true Goddess of generosity and morality. Adhering toward her faith, devotees start believing on honesty, loyalty and life-long relationship. 


श्वेते वृषे समारूढा श्वेताम्बरधरा शुचिः |
महागौरी शुभं दद्यान्त्र महादेव प्रमोददा ||

Śvētē vr̥ṣē samārūḍhā śvētāmbaradharā śuciḥ |
mahāgaurī śubhaṁ dadyāntra mahādēva pramōdadā ||

May Mahagauri Ma Durga, who rides a white Rishabha bull, who wears spotless white clothes and remains ever pure and also provides everlasting bliss to Mahadeva Lord Shiva bestow all auspiciousness upon me.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

More in Events & Festivals
Maa Kalaratri – The Worship of the Fiercest Forms of Godess Durga on 7th Navratri

Kalaratri means the One who is “the...

Maa Katyayani – Sixth Manifestation of Ma Durga
Maa Katyayani – Sixth Manifestation of Ma Durga, Worshiped on Sixth Day of Navratri

Katyayani Devi is worshipped as sixth form...

Maa Skandamata
Maa Skandamata – Fifth Manifestation of Devi Durga worshiped on fifth day of Navaratri

The fifth manifestation of Devi Durga is...

Devi Kushmanda: the fourth form of Mother Durga
Devi Kushmanda: the fourth form of Mother Durga

Maa Kushmanda is the fourth manifestation of...